Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan have signed the final text of the resolution of the Eastern Partnership summit held in Riga. The talks were longer than planned because of the position of the Azerbaijani side concerning Nagorno-Karabakh.

On May 21-22, Riga hosted the Eastern Partnership summit. The Riga summit draft declaration included no provisions stipulating the possibility for the South Caucasus countries to join the European Union. However, the document describes the plans to strengthen the EU's role in resolving conflicts in the territory of the former USSR.

Representatives of the Azerbaijani side requested to ensure that the document pays more attention to the conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh, the "TASS" reports with reference to a diplomatic source.

The paragraph about the Karabakh conflict, which states that the summit participants fully support the efforts made by the leaders of the Minsk Group to settle it, has been signed only after the personal phone talks between Donald Tusk, the President of the European Council, and Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliev, who did not come to the summit, the "Novaya Gazeta" reports with reference to Swedish Prime Minister Stephen Leven.

The final version of the Riga summit draft declaration also mentions the special role of Azerbaijan in the implementation of the Southern Gas Corridor, the Trans-Anatolian Pipeline (TANAP), and the Trans Adriatic Pipeline (TAP) projects, the "APA" reports.

link to original story